Saturday, May 25, 2019


The entire Senses Novels series is my modern interpretation of the book of Revelation. However, if you have read the novels to this point (book five,) you probably have figured out that Ecclesiastes is one of my favorite books of the Bible; in particular, Ecclesiastes 3. I think that it is the only place in the Old Testament that covers just about every human condition and situation:

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
a time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a time to build up;
a time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
a time to seek, and a time to lose;
a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
a time to tear, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
a time to love, and a time to hate;
a time for war, and a time for peace.

I am currently working on book six of the series, the conclusion. If you have read deeply into the novels you likely found that it follows the rhythm of Ecclesiastes 3 fairly close, there is a time for everything. I make this most evident in book four, Synesthesia.

In book six, I am trying to bring all of the threads from the other five novels together. This isn’t as easy as it sounds. Consistent readers of this blog know that my characters have a tendency to take on a life of their own. The personalities and attitudes of the main characters of the novels are quite different from each other, and not necessarily compatible; just like real life.

Imagine how boring our lives would be if everyone agreed with everything you said and did; if we all had the same likes and dislikes. I don’t think we should be uncivil, or foolish in how we treat others, but disagreement and differences are a part of life. Life is short, eternity is long; what we do and say here matters there.

If you haven’t picked up your copy of book five, 7EVENTH SENSE yet, I encourage you to do so. It’s a wild ride, and the perfect lead into book six.

Have a great holiday weekend everyone, remember what it is about. Take a moment to honor those that have sacrificed everything for us.



No comments:

Post a Comment